October 22, 2020, 02:04:22 am

News:

Hope all members are healthy and well

Lipperhey telescope invention

Started by Peter De Laet, April 12, 2020, 11:26:35 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

Peter De Laet

Dear all,

I've been working in Middelburg for close to 20 years now and although it has been constantly crossing my mind, for some reason I have never actally tried to pinpoint the exact location of where the telescope was invented by Lipperhey. Over the past month I've been more in Middelburg than I would ever wish for and in the wee late hours when everything calmed down I decided to start my search.

Lipperhey invented the telescope in his shop/house located at the "Kapoenstraat" (painting, house at the extreme right). Later (and thanks to the revenue he received from selling his first three telescopes) he bought the house to the left of it, calling it "in de drie vare gesichten" (in the three vistas") in honor of these three telescopes. Unfortunately, a German aerial bombardment destroyed the premises on May 7th, 1940. During the reconstruction of the area, the Kapoenstraat vanished. From what we can see nowadays, Lipperhey's original shop must have been quite humble; it measured 6 x 6 meters at best. Today it serves as a parking space, allowing for two cars only.

Wishing you all a happy and healthy Easter,

Peter.
"Wer schaffen will, muss fröhlich sein!" Theodor Fontane, 1819-1898.

Rodolfo Peirano

Tanks so much for info Peter. Very interesting.

For those interested:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hans_Lipperhey
everyone can learn from everyone - Rodolfo

Niall McLaren

Thanks Peter - optical archeology in action. It's amazing to think that such a world changing invention came from such humble origins.

Today we view it in purely optical terms but, as Galileo discovered to his cost, the findings of telescopic research could be quite revolutionary..
"A little bit of something beats a whole lot of nothing." - Little Richard

Uli Zeun